Seanan McGuire

October Daye series

Rosemary and Rue
A Local Habitation
An Artificial Night
Late Eclipses
One Salt Sea
Ashes of Honor
The Chimes at Midnight

There are definitely at least three more after these:

The Winter Long
A Red-Rose Chain
Once Broken Faith



Rosemary and Rue (September 1st 2009, DAW) introduces us to October Daye, a fae half-breed, former street kid, and self-exiled knight-errant from the Duchy of Shadowed Hills. Her friends—the few friends she has left—call her Toby. After getting burned by both sides of her heritage, she's retreated entirely from the fae community, spending her nights stocking shelves at a San Francisco grocery store and her days asleep in her apartment downtown. It takes two to really make an exile work, and when Countess Evening Winterrose is murdered, Toby finds herself yanked abruptly back into the world she thought she was leaving behind. It's going to take everything she's got just to stay alive, and the stakes are higher than anyone has guessed...

A Local Habitation (March 2nd 2010, DAW) finds Toby still reeling from her return to fae society when her liege lord, Duke Sylvester Torquill, comes to her with a request she can't deny. His niece, January, lives in a nearby fiefdom called Tamed Lightning, and has stopped checking in. Taking Quentin, a teenage Daoine Sidhe courtier from Shadowed Hills, Toby heads for Tamed Lightning on what looks like a simple baby-sitting run on the surface, but underneath, has the potential to turn dangerous for everyone involved...

An Artificial Night (September 7th 2010, DAW) brings Toby into unavoidable, disastrous contact with the darker realities of the fae as Blind Michael, Firstborn son of Oberon and Maeve, begins claiming the children of the Mists as his own...including several that Toby considers to be essentially family. Time is short and the rules are stranger than any she's ever played by, dictated by a mad Firstborn and his private army, but failure isn't an option. If she can't get there and back by the light of a candle, she may not get back at all...

Late Eclipses (March 1st 2011, DAW) finds Toby still reeling from her encounter with Blind Michael, but beginning, gradually, to recover...a recovery that is endangered when an old enemy makes an unexpected appearance. Has Oleander de Merelands returned to San Francisco? If so, why? And what part does the Queen of the Mists have to play in all of this? With the stakes getting higher by the hour, Toby must finally find a way to sort truth from lies, and learn more about her place in Faerie than she ever dreamed...

One Salt Sea (September 6th 2011, DAW) begins as Toby is getting her feet under herself in the wake of Oleander's return. She's running her county, getting a grip on the management of her knowe, and heading for a world of trouble as the sudden threat of war with the local Undersea looms. Can she find the missing sons of the Duke and Duchess of Saltmist before people start dying? Or is it already too late? The fight is more personal than it's ever been before, and not everyone will be standing when the tide rolls out...

Ashes of Honor (September 4th 2012, DAW) picks up in the aftermath of the conflict with the Undersea. Toby's life has changed forever, and she's still trying to figure out how she's going to deal with what she can't deny. But when an old friend encounters an unexpected problem, she can't allow her grief to interfere with her job—and maybe more importantly, she can't allow her inaction to endanger Faerie. Doors that were never meant to open are being unlocked, and roads long abandoned are being used once more. It's a race for the life of a little girl, and there can only be one winner...

Chimes at Midnight (September 2013, DAW). Details to come.

The Winter Long (September 2014, DAW). Details to come.

A Red Rose Chain (September 2015, DAW). Details to come.

Once Broken Faith (September 2016, DAW). Details to come.



"Through This House," published in Home Improvement: Undead Edition (August 2011). This story takes place between Late Eclipses and One Salt Sea, and features Toby, May, Danny, and Quentin as they make their first entrance into the reopened knowe of Goldengreen.

"In Sea-Salt Tears," released in August 2012, available for free download on this site. This story takes place before Rosemary and Rue, and features the Luidaeg before she became a part of Toby's story.

"Rat-Catcher," published in A Fantasy Medley 2 (December 2012). This story takes place in the late 1600s, and follows the final adventure of Rand, Prince of Cats, before he was forced to stand and acknowledge his inevitable destiny as King.

For more information on the October Daye short stories, and to download the free stories for your reading pleasure, please visit the October Daye Short Fiction page.