Rachel Caine


Weather Warden Series

ILL WIND (book 1)
Release date:   December 2003

Joanne Baldwin is a Weather Warden.  Usually all it takes is a wave of her hand to tame the most violent weather.  But now Joanne is trying to outrun another kind of storm:   accusations of corruption and murder.  So she's resorting to the very human tactic of running for her life ...

Her only hope is Lewis, the most powerful Warden of them all.  Unfortunately, he's also on the run from the World Council.  It seems he's stolen not one but three bottles of Djinn -- making him the most wanted man on earth.  And without Lewis, Joanne's chances of surviving are as good as a snowball in -- well, a place she may soon be headed.  So she and her classic Mustang are racing hard to find him because there's some bad weather closing in fast ...

HEAT STROKE (book 2)
Release date:   August 2004

Joanne's survived one challenge ... technically ... but she's got a whole new set of problems.  With the help of a hot supernatural lover, her chances of surviving look bright -- until things go wrong.  There's trouble coming, and it's not confined to River City ... or to the Wardens.  No, this trouble could kill every Djinn on the planet -- and unleash a storm that could send humanity to join them.

Armed with keen fashion sense, lime green Manolo Blahniks and a really fast car, Joanne prepares to do battle with the enemy.

Just one problem ... it may be Joanne herself.


Release date:  January 2005

Living, dead, or Djinn, Joanne Baldwin just can't stay out of trouble.  Now she's on a time-sensitive mission to Vegas to retrieve the world's most important Djinn from the world's most dangerous teenager ... all alone.  That's bad enough, but having to deal with a past that's determined to bury her, and suffering from serious wardrobe shortages ... well, that's over the line. 

One thing's for certain:  she's gambling everything this time.

WINDFALL (book 4)
Release date:  November 2005

You think you're having a bad day? Joanne's lost her job as a Weather Warden, and saving the world generally doesn't come with a decent retirement check. It also doesn't come with any guarantees of landing a day job that won't suck, or being able to find a mystical cure for her critically ill Djinn lover. Burdened with a difficult sister in need of rescue, accused of weather-related murder, and finding herself in the middle of a Djinn civil war ... well, Joanne's bad times are just getting worse.

With enemies approaching from all sides, not to mention mounting credit card bills (Manolo Blahniks don't come cheap!), Joanne is praying for a windfall ... but the mother of all hurricanes approaching the Florida coast isn't exactly what she has in mind.

Firestorm (Fifth novel of the Weather Warden)
Release date:  September 2006

Thin Air (Sixth novel of the Weather Warden)
Release date:  Summer 2007

Release date:  August 2005

Jasmine "Jazz" Callender is on the downhill slide to ruin.  Once a decorated homicide detective, she's lost it all:  her former partner's been convicted of murder, she's been cashiered out, and she's drinking away what little self-respect she's got left.

But Jazz has a talent for trouble, and somebody knows it.  When a mysterious, sexy stranger comes looking for her with a fateful red envelope in his hand, she's about to make the deal of her life ... for good or bad. 

The deal requires her to enter into a partnership with a stranger and investigate cases that arrive in special red envelopes ... which is odd enough, but gets weirder as she and her new partner Lucia realize that they may be working for someone with supernatural abilities.

And maybe they're not on the side of the angels anymore.

Release date:  January 2006

Everything you do matters.

Lucia Garza opened a detective agency with Jazz Callender, and discovered a whole new, eerie world of precognition, coincidence, and chaos.  There's a chance that Lucia and Jazz can escape their fate, but it's risky.  They need people they can trust ... but can Lucia trust Jazz's old partner, Ben McCarthy?  Or is he working for the other side?

Worse ... is their side really the right one?

Upcoming projects:

Glass Houses (First novel of the Morganville series)
Release date:  October 2006
Status:  nearing release

Trust (First novel of the second Athena Force series)
Release date:  October 2006
Status:  completed

The Dead Girl's Dance (Second novel of the Morganville series)
Release date:  Spring 2007
Status:  Writing