Patricia A McKillip

McKillip writes unbelieveably evocative prose.

The Riddle-Master trilogy

The Riddle-Master of Hed (1976)
Heir of Sea and Fire (1977)
Harpist in the Wind (1979) (Nominee, World Fantasy Award, Best Novel 1980)

The Riddle-Master's Game: The Complete Trilogy

The Cygnet

The Sorceress and the Cygnet (1991)
The Cygnet and the Firebird (1993)

Other works

The House on Parchment Street (1973)
The Throme of the Erril of Sherril (1973)
The Forgotten Beasts of Eld (1974) (Winner, World Fantasy Award, Best Novel 1975)
The Night Gift (1976)
Stepping from the Shadows (1982)
Moon-Flash (1984)
The Moon and the Face (1985)
Fool's Run (1987)
The Changeling Sea (1988)
Something Rich and Strange (1984)
The Book of Atrix Wolfe (1995)
Winter Rose (1996)
Song for the Basilisk (1998)
The Tower at Stony Wood
Ombria in Shadow (Winner, World Fantasy Award, Best Novel 2003)
Mag is a waxling created by the sorceress Faey to help her. The city of Ombria is in turmoil atfter the Prince's death and Mag's curiosity drags her into the deadly politics.
In the Forests of Serre
Alphabet of Thorn (2004)
Only Nepenthe can read an ancient book written in thorns. The new Queen of Raine, teen-aged Tessera, is magically fore-warned of  a danger by a centuries dead ruler.
Od Magic (2005)
Od started a school of magic centuries ago, but its purpose was subverted and needs adjustment.
Harrowing the Dragon (2005, short stories)
Solstice Wood (2006)